Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 1002 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 327 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 672 newspaper articles, 253 maps and 104 documents. About 135 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search

Re-opening, new management


Source: North Wales Chronicle 16/03/1867       Date: 1867
Copyright:       Type: Newspaper
Description:

Transcript:
ABERYSTWITH. THE QUEEN'S HOTEL.The Queen's Hotel, at Aberystwith, and the Devil's Bridge Hotel (formerly belonging to the Hafod Hotel Company, which collapsed on its own petition under the pressure of the panic and went into voluntary liquidation,) has been purchased from the Liquidator entire as a going concern by a new company (consisting in the main of the same parties subscribing extra capital), and registered as the Mid- Wales Hotel Company, Limited. Four of the old Directors, Mr. Balcombe, of course, as Managing Director, and Mr. William Tipping, of Brasted Park (Director of the London and North-Western Railway), will form the new board of Directors. The special meeting to confirm the necessary resolutions was held on Friday, 1st March, at the Victoria Hotel, Euston-square. In the interval of the collapse and the reconstitution of the Company, the Queen's Hotel has been finished by means of capital found by the Directors. It is now in complete and decorative order, and its accommodation exceeds one hundred bedrooms. We observe that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Palmer, late of the Royal Hotel, Norwood, (Crystal Palace,) have been appointed managers of the Queen's whilst those old favourites, Mr. and Mrs. Bancks, will continue to cater at the Devil's Bridge Hotel.
Notes:
Linked to
Hafod Arms , Devil's Bridge, Devil's Bridge
Queens Hotel , Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth

Total: 1