Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 991 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 310 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 662 newspaper articles, 252 maps and 104 documents. About 138 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Royal George, Lampeter / Llanbedr Pont Steffan

Other names: Wine Vaults; Gin Shop
Address/Location: Harford Square SA48 7DX
OS Grid Ref: SN5775948124
Opened: before 1841      
Closed: 1908       Type: Inn
Summary: The Royal George was situated where Boots Chemist shop is now.


Notes:
1841 Census
Evan Thomas, Innkeeper
1844 Pigot’s directory
Evan Thomas
1849 Hunt & Co. Directory
John Havard Jones, Agent for Guinness Stout
1851 Census
John Havard Jones, Wine & Spirit Merchant
1861 Census
Edward William Rees, Wine & Spirit Merchant
1875
Edward William Rees, innkeeper of the Royal George, Lampeter, declared bankrupt. London Gazette 1875.
1875
licensee: James Morgan (Worrall’s Directory, 1875)
1871 Census
Edward William Rees, Wine & Spirit Merchant
1881 Census
Wine Vaults: Margaret Morgans, Innkeeper
1891 Census
The Royal George: Mary A Jones, Innkeeper (Daughter of Margaret Morgans)
1901 Census
The Royal George, Thomas Griffiths, Cattle Dealer
1905
Petty Sessions: Lampeter; number on list: 8; name of premises: Royal George; Parish / Place: Lampeter; Licensee: Griffiths, Thomas; owner or tenant : tenant; registered owner : Buckley Brewery, Llanelly; free or tied: tied; tied to: Buckley Brewery; type of licence: full; on or off licence: on; number of licenced days per week: 6. (1905 list)
1908
Licence refused – no compensation entitlement
(County Licencing Committee, 1905-1938 Ceredigion Archives, Cards/QS/L/1)



Additional information

Newspaper:

Compensation claim notice 1908

Date: 1908


People associated with this establishment
Rees, William Edward [-]