Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 991 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 310 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 662 newspaper articles, 252 maps and 104 documents. About 138 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Beach Hotel, Aberaeron

Other names:
Address/Location:
OS Grid Ref: SN4545662886
Opened: 1907      
Closed: c. 1934       Type: Pub
Summary: (on the former site of the Sailors Arms)

Now demolished.

Notes: 1907
"TO LET OR SELL. Beach Hotel and Private House, Aberayron. Full particulars from LEWIS DAVIES, Builder, Aberayron"
Cymro a'r Celt Llundain 8 June 1907

1908
The licence of "Beach Hotel" was transferred to Mr William Newman CN

1909
Beach Hotel, Aberaeron
Letter, 17.11.1909 William Newman of Beach Hotel, Aberaeron unable to pay his debts
NLW , Roberts and Evans, David Roberts of Trefechan; CB7/7
1910
William Newman; Beach P.H., West side (Kelly’s Directory, 1910)

1915
"TO BE LET or Sold with immediate possession, BEACH HOTEL, with Beach House, Aberayron Free house. All particulars, Lewis Davies, Aberayron" Cmn Jnl 2 July 1915

1918
"The transfer of the licence of the Beach Hotel from Jessie Matilda Davies to John Lloyd was authorised. " CN 2 Aug 1918

1919
"The premises of the Beach Hotel, owned by Mr. Lewis Davies, Nutshell, has been bought by Mr. L. Lloyd, the present tenant, at £700." CN 26 Sept 1919
1934
Closed, - became a private house called Llysheli

See also Mair Lloyd Evans and Mair Harrison, The Ins and Outs of the Inns of Aberayron, (2013), p. 12-14, 17, 20


Additional information

Newspaper:

Failed attempt to transfer licence

Date: 1909

Map:

OS map 1905 showing Sailors Arms/Beach Hotel

Date: 1905