Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 1002 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 329 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 672 newspaper articles, 253 maps and 104 documents. About 134 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Railway Hotel, Lampeter / Llanbedr Pont Steffan

Other names: Railway House; Troedyrhiw-issa;Tafarn Troedrhiw
Address/Location: North Road SA48 7JB
OS Grid Ref: SN5771248833
Opened: before 1850      
Closed: c. 2005       Type: Hotel
Summary: Named as an inn since the 1851 census. William Davies was the Licensee before the 1871 Census until his death in 1914.
The Lewis family still live here, but has not been open as a public house since about 2005.

Troedyrhiw-issa farm, David Owens, Farmer
Troedyrhiw, David Owens, Innkeeper
Troedyrhiw, David Owens, Innkeeper & carrier
Troedyrhiw-issa, William Davies, Innkeeper
licensee, Railway House: William Davies (Worrall’s Directory, 1875)
Railway House, William Davies, Innkeeper
Railway House, William Davies, Innkeeper
Railway House, William Davies, Innkeeper
Petty Sessions: Lampeter; number on list: 16; name of premises: Railway Inn; Parish / Place: Lampeter; Licensee: Davies, William; owner or tenant : Owner; registered owner : W Davies, Railway Inn; free or tied: Free; tied to: [blank]; type of licence: full; on or off licence: on; number of licenced days per week: 7. (1905 list)
Railway House, William Davies
1914 (9th Jan)
William Davies died
1929 (March 9)
John Jenkin Davies, Railway House, died
Lewis family. John Lewis who was a nephew to William Davies
2005 (about)

Additional information


Railway Hotel, Lampeter, c.1950s

Date: 1950 (approx)