Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 991 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 310 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 662 newspaper articles, 252 maps and 104 documents. About 138 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Bulls Head Inn, Llanilar (p)

Other names:
Address/Location:
OS Grid Ref: SN6223975105
Opened: c. 1877      
Closed: 1884       Type: Pub
Summary: Replacement building for the Old Inn [show pub]
John Richards of the Bulls Head Inn in Llanilar, innkeeper and mason was declared bankrupt in Feb. 1884. He owed £78 plus solicitors fees of £16. He sold some of his furniture worth £38 to pay off some debts. He had previously been bankrupt in 1875.
NLW Roberts and Evans, CG3/16

Location: based on 1906 newspaper report that site was now 'The Post Office' - taken from 1906 map.


Notes: 1884
County Court of Cardiganshire, Aberystwyth
Re John Richard, exparte the Debtor [who] filed a petition on 22.1.1884, the Official receiver is constituted Receiver of the Estate of John Richard of the Bull’s Head Inn in Llanilar, Innkeeper and Mason, and that the London and Provincial Bank shall be restrained from taking any further proceedings on the judgement of the High Court.
NLW Roberts and Evans, CG3/8


Additional information

Newspaper:

Moving to new building

Date: 1877

Newspaper:

Bit of history

Date: 1906

Map:

Llanilar 6-inch OS map

Date: 1906