Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 991 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 310 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 662 newspaper articles, 252 maps and 104 documents. About 138 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Castle Arms, Cardigan / Aberteifi

Other names:
Address/Location: 2 Green Street
OS Grid Ref: SN1774945929 probably
Opened: c.      
Closed: NOT KNOWN       Type: Pub
Summary: In existence 1843-1905 (Glen Johnson's list from Trade Directories, Census returns etc.)

Notes: 1875
licensee: Jane Jones (Worrall’s Directory, 1875)
1882
"The lots and prices were: In Cardigan—Prince of Wales Inn, £480 dwelling-house, &c., adjoining, dwelling houses, &c., adjoining the Ivy Bush Inn, £430 (value ;£180), Castle Arms Inn, &c., £190, Half-Moon Inn, &c., £320, Royal Oak Inn and 2 houses adjoining, £ 500, 2 houses opposite the last lot, £ 180 and storehouses and quay behind the Royal Oak £520" S Wales Daily News, 5 July 1882

1896
"The licences of the Castle Arms was transferred to John Williams, that of the Castle Inn to Mrs Jones, and that of the Liverpool Arms to D. O. Jones, as part owner of the house." S Wales Daily News 9 Sept 1896

Additional information

Newspaper:

Objection - drink not served

Date: 1898