Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 1002 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 329 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 672 newspaper articles, 253 maps and 104 documents. About 134 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Royal Arms, Cardigan / Aberteifi

Other names:
Address/Location: Pwllhai
OS Grid Ref: SN1781246133 probably
Opened: c.      
Closed: c. 1927       Type: Pub
Summary: In existence 1841-1927 (Glen Johnson's list from Trade Directories, Census returns etc.)

2019 there is a 'Royal Buildings' at 2 Pwllhai. Probably the old pub?

Notes: 1875
licensee: John Lewis (Worrall’s Directory, 1875)
Royal Farmers and General fire insurance policy protecting nos. 1 and 2 Pwllhay, taken out by John Lewis, Innkeeper of the Royal Arms Inn, Cardigan.
Ceredigion Archives, PE/4/3
9 April 1881
Counterpart lease for the ‘Royal Arms’ Inn, Cardigan, between George Frederick William Miles and Mr John Lewis.
Ceredigion Archives, PE/2/45

"INFRINGEMENT OF THE FOOD AND DRUG ACT.—A similar charge was brought against James James, Royal Arms Inn. for selling whiskey 32 degrees under proof.—Mr W. J. Williams, solicitor, appeared for the defendant.- Fined £1 and costs. " CN 1 Dec 1893

1901 Census
Jane Davies Wid 48 Innkeeper

Petty Sessions: Cardigan; number on list: 28; name of premises: Royal Arms; Parish / Place: Cardigan; Licensee: Davies, Jane; owner or tenant : owner; registered owner : Jane Davies, Royal Arms Cardigan; free or tied: free; tied to: [blank]; type of licence: full; on or off licence: on; number of licenced days per week: 6. (1905 list)

1911 Census Mrs Jane Davies, Brewer

1920 Kelly's
Mrs Jane Davies

Closed, Compensation £771
(County Licencing Committee, 1905-1938 Ceredigion Archives, Cards/QS/L/1)

Additional information