Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 1002 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 329 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 672 newspaper articles, 253 maps and 104 documents. About 134 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Red Cow Inn, Cardigan / Aberteifi

Other names:
Address/Location: 14 or 15 High Street
OS Grid Ref: SN1775446102
Opened: before 1834      
Closed: c. 1871       Type: Pub
Summary: Appears on Wood map 1834

Closed approx 1871 and then became ironmongers (No. 15? High Street in 1881 Census)

Notes: 1846
"PROLIFIC FOWL.-There is at present in the possession of Mr. Rees, of the Red Cow, High Street, Cardigan, a black hen which has lately hatched the astonishing number of 22 ducks at one sitting, 19 of which are now alive and thriving." Welshman 5 June 1846

"Married: On the 22nd inst., at the parish church, of St Dogmaels, Cardigan, by the Vicar, the Rev. Griffith Thomas, Mr. Evan Morgan of Cardigan, mariner, to Mary, the daughter of Mr. Joseph Rees, of the Red Cow Inn, High Street, Cardigan." Welshman 25 Feb 1853

Dispute regarding pavement outside former Red Cow - see att
"Mr. Benjamin Evans, grocer, proved that from 1844 till 1871, standings used to be on the pavement in question, when the two houses were public houses (Red Cow and King's Head), and that the public could not pass behind the standings. " Cgn Obs 21 Jan 1882

Additional information


Refused admittance to police

Date: 1850


Pavement dispute

Date: 1882


Theft while lodging at the Red Cow

Date: 1848