Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 991 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 309 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 662 newspaper articles, 252 maps and 104 documents. About 138 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Penrhiwgaled Arms, Llanllwchaiarn (p)

Other names:
Address/Location: Cross Inn
OS Grid Ref: SN3907057237
Opened: c.      
Closed: open 2017       Type: Pub
Summary: This is the Cross Inn near New Quay

Notes: 1851 Census
One PH, John Davies

1871
Penrhiwgaled Arms, John Thomas 62
Also John Davies, 90, father-in-law, retired Innkeeper

1887
"William Davies, labourer. Bryngwyn, Llaullwchaiarn, was charged P.C. D. Davies, New Quay, with being drunk at Penrhiwgaled Arms, and refusing to quit the premises. Fined 5s. and 14s. 6d. costs" CN 30 Sept 1887

1891 Census
John Thomas, 85, Retired Mariner, Penrhiwgaled Arms Public House

1905
Petty Sessions: Aberaeron; number on list: 46; name of premises: Penrhiwgaled Arms; Parish / Place: Llanllwchaiarn; Licensee: Thomas, Mary; owner or tenant : tenant; registered owner : Major Evans, Camnant, Llandyssul; free or tied: tied; tied to: Buckley Brewery; type of licence: full; on or off licence: on; number of licenced days per week: 6. (1905 list)

Additional information

Newspaper:

Special licences for the fair, 1896

Date: 1896