Explore the database

The database currently contains details of 992 pubs and other premises, 256 places and 209 people. There are also 319 photos and postcards, 80 pub signs, 665 newspaper articles, 252 maps and 104 documents. About 138 pubs are still open.

Use the options below to search the database.

N.B. Some pubs do not appear on the maps as we do not have a definite location for them.

Quick search

    Search for:
    Browse the database     Advanced search
Something not right? Got extra information? Please contact us and tell us more!

Details of pub: Ffrwdyryad Arms, Llanwnen

Other names: Ffrwd-y-hwyad Arms, Cribin-bach
Address/Location:
OS Grid Ref: SN5245849634
Opened: c.      
Closed: 1929       Type: Pub
Notes: 1889
On OS 25 inch map

1905
Petty Sessions: Lampeter; number on list: 22; name of premises: Ffrwdyryad Arms; Parish / Place: Lampeter rural; Licensee: Evans, Sarah; owner or tenant : tenant; registered owner : Allsopps and Sons; free or tied: tied; tied to: Allsopps and Sons; type of licence: full; on or off licence: on; number of licenced days per week: 7. (1905 list)


1914
A transfer of the licence of Ffrwdyhwyad Arms was granted to Mr. David Evans from the late Mrs. Sarah Evans CN 29 May 1914

1929
Closed, Compensation £163
(County Licencing Committee, 1905-1938 Ceredigion Archives, Cards/QS/L/1)




Additional information

Newspaper:

Comments on the number of pubs near Llanfihangel Ystrad

Date: 1879